Regional Early Action Planning

San Joaquin Valley Regional Early Action Planning for Housing

The Local Government Planning Support Grants Program (AB 101) was established to provide regions and jurisdictions with one‐time grant funding for planning activities to meet the sixth cycle of the regional housing needs assessment, and to spur affordable housing production.  A total of $18,975,323 in Regional Early Action Planning (REAP) grant funds is available to the eight San Joaquin Valley Regional Planning Agencies.


The San Joaquin Valley Regional Early Action Committee for Housing (SJV REAP Committee), created by statue, will help guide the REAP planning efforts for the valley. The SJV REAP Committee consist of 24 members of the San Joaquin Valley regional planning agencies, cities, counties and community members.  The SJV REAP Committee meets two to four times a year.  The San Joaquin Valley Regional Planning Agencies’ Directors’ Committee will also advise the SJV REAP program implementation process.

The Fresno Council of Governments is the fiscal agent for this regional effort.  There are three primary work areas for this effort:

(1) RHNA (regional housing needs assessments) – Developing an improved methodology for the distribution of the sixth cycle regional housing need assessment.

(2) Suballocations to Jurisdictions – Providing grants to accelerate housing production in a way that aligns with state planning priorities, housing, transportation, equity, and climate goals.

(3) Valleywide Work Efforts – Conducting a comprehensive housing report, regional planning and coordination, program implementation, technical assistance, and other activities as stated in the application for funding.


For more information, please contact Robert Phipps at or Michael Sigala at

SJV REAP Committee Meetings

December 10, 2020

June 26, 2020

January 17, 2020


REAP program for the San Joaquin Valley Workshop held Tuesday, February 23, 2021.


The San Joaquin Valley Regional Planning Agencies in collaboration with the California Department of Housing and Community Development hosted a virtual workshop on the REAP Grant Program for San Joaquin Valley jurisdictions. This webinar shared information about housing planning funds available to cities and counties to increase housing production, as well as how to leverage both LEAP and REAP funds for planning projects.


Please find the slide deck and recording on ILG’s website:

Other workshops pending

SJV REAP Committee Members

Kern County

Supervisor Zack Scrivner, County of Kern (County Rep. and Kern COG Board Member)


Councilmember Bob Smith, City of Bakersfield (Large City Rep. and Chairman of Kern COG)


Councilmember Cathy Prout, City of Shafter (Small City Rep.)

Kings County

Supervisor Doug Verboon, County of Kings (County Rep. and KCAG Board Member)


Vice-Mayor Diane Sharp, City of Hanford (Large City Rep.)


Mayor Alvaro Preciado, City of Avenal (Small City Rep.)

Fresno County

Supervisor Steve Brandau, County of Fresno (County Rep)


Mayor Lee Brand, City of Fresno (Large City Representative and Fresno COG Board Member)


CHAIR – Vice Mayor Gary Yep, City of Kerman (Small City Representative and Fresno COG Board Member)

Madera County

Supervisor Robert Poythress, County of Madera (County Rep. and MCTC Board Member)


Vacant (Large City Rep.)


Council Member Diana Palmer, City of Chowchilla (Small City Rep.)

Merced County

VICE CHAIR – Supervisor Lloyd Pareira, County of Merced (County Rep. and MCAG Board Member)


Mayor Matt Serratto, City of Merced (Large City Representative)


Mayor April Hogue, City of Dos Palos (Small City Representative)

San Joaquin County

Supervisor Chuck Winn, County of San Joaquin (County Rep. and SJ COG Board Member)


Vice Mayor Dan Wright, City of Stockton (Large City Rep.)


Councilmember Gary Singh, City of Manteca (Small City Rep.)

Stanislaus County

Supervisor Vito Chiesa, County of Stanislaus (County Rep. and StanCOG Board Member)


Bill O’Brien, private citizen representing Larger City (formerly served County BOS, StanCOG Board and SJV Policy Council)


Anthony Canella, private citizen representing Small Cities (former Senator)

Tulare County

Supervisor Eddie Valero, County of Tulare (County Rep. and TCAG Board Member)


Councilmember Frankie Alves, City of Exeter (Small City Rep.)


Mayor Martha Flores, City of Porterville (Large City Rep.)