Regional Planning Agencies

About Regional Planning Agencies (RPAs)

The San Joaquin Valley Regional Transportation Planning Agencies (RTPAs) include the Council of Fresno County Governments, Kern Council of Governments, Kings County Association of Governments, Madera County Transportation Commission, Merced County Association of Governments, San Joaquin Council of Governments, Stanislaus Council of Governments and Tulare County Association of Governments. Rising to meet the San Joaquin Valley’s most pressing issues, the eight RTPAs joined forces in 2006 to create a partnership to begin a problem-solving approach to the meet the Valley’s regional needs.

What is a Regional Transportation Agency?

A Regional Transportation Agency, also known as a Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), is a public organization encompassing a multi-jurisdictional regional community. With state and locally-defined boundaries, they serve the local governments and citizens in the region by dealing with issues and needs that cross city, town, county and even state boundaries. Mechanisms used to address these issues may include communication, planning, policy making, coordination, advocacy, and technical issues.

Conceived in the 1960s, regional councils today are stable, broad-based organizations proficient at consensus-building, creating partnerships, providing services, problem solving and fiscal management. The role of a RTPA/MPO has been shaped by the changing dynamics in federal, state and local government relations, and the growing recognition that the region is the arena in which local governments must work together to resolve social and environmental challenges. RTPA’s/MPO’s have proven themselves as reliable agents and many take on projects which are independent of federal funding. Transportation planning, economic development,, the environment, and clearinghouse functions are among the types of programs managed by RTPA’s/MPO’s.

Fresno Council of Governments
Kern Council of Governments

Fresno COG represents 16 member agencies including Fresno County and the cities of Clovis, Coalinga, Firebaugh, Fowler, Fresno, Huron, Kerman, Kingsburg, Mendota, Orange Cove, Parlier, Reedley, San Joaquin, Sanger, and Selma. Mayors from each of the cities and the chairman of the county supervisors sit on the COG 16-member Policy Board.

Kern COG represents 12 member agencies including Kern County and the cities of Arvin, Bakersfield, California City, Delano, Maricopa, McFarland, Ridgecrest, Shafter, Taft, Tehachapi, and Wasco. City council members from each of the incorporated cities, two county supervisors, and ex-officio members representing Caltrans, the Golden Empire Transit District, and the Joint Planning Policy Board make up the Kern COG Board of Directors.

Madery County Transportation Commission

KCAG represents five member agencies including Kings County and the cities of Avenal, Corcoran, Hanford, and Lemoore. KCAG is governed by a commission of two county supervisors and one city council representative from each of the cities.

MCTC represents three member agencies including Madera County and the cities of Chowchilla and Madera. MCTC is governed by a Policy Board of three county supervisors, two city council members from the City of Madera, and a city council member from the City of Chowchilla.

San Joaquin Council of Governments

MCAG represents seven member agencies including Merced County and the cities of Atwater, Dos Palos, Gustine, Livingston, Los Banos, and Merced. The MCAG Governing Board includes all five county supervisors and a city council member from each of the six incorporated cities.

SJCOG represents eight member agencies including San Joaquin County and the cities of Escalon, Lathrop, Lodi, Manteca, Ripon, Stockton, and Tracy. SJCOG is governed by a Board of Directors made up of three county supervisors, three elected officials from the City of Stockton and one elected official from each of the other six jurisdictions.

Tulare County Association of Governments

Stan COG represents 10 member agencies including Stanislaus County and the cities of Ceres, Hughson, Modesto, Newman, Oakdale, Patterson, Riverbank, Turlock, and Waterford. Stan COG is governed by a 17-member Policy Board which includes the five county supervisors and elected officials from each city.

TCAG represents nine member agencies including Tulare County and the cities of Dinuba, Exeter, Farmersville, Lindsay, Porterville, Tulare, Visalia, and Woodlake. TCAG is governed by a 17-member Board of Governors that includes the five county supervisors and elected officials from each of the cities, three at-large members, and a representative from Caltrans.